The Y Front Chronicles – How it got its name.

 I have been asked by a number of people – “Alan, why on earth did you call your Sci –fi book ‘The Y Front Chronicles’?
The answer to that is rather complicated and mildly interesting!  Below is the short easy version…though still mildly interesting!
‘Y Fronts’ came about because of the webpage – Readwave.com.  My short stories were getting good reviews and had just become a Star Reviewer on Readwave, so I wanted to write some quick and easy that could be made up of instatements.
The idea of writing in a diary format sprang to mind, quickly followed by the idea of setting it in the year 3256. But whose diary would I be writing?  Immediately the world ‘Killer’ entered my mind.
So, next I had to work out the actual story.
The story of ‘Y Fronts’ is about a man who is lost, lonely and feels out of place within his new environment.  Having served in the RAF for 12 years (as a caterer), it was a feelings I could strong relate to. The military has its own language, rules and ways of doing things and you know where you fit in.
When I left and went to work for the Council, it was a huge shock to the system and I found it very difficult to fit in. They worked differently, they talked differently, they could not relate to my past experiences and I could not relate to theirs.
It took me almost a year, to learn to be a Civilian again, and talking to fellow ex-military colleagues and friends, I discovered that they too found it very difficult to adjust to the “Real World” that lay outside the camp gates. I wanted to get this feeling of being out of touch with the “Real World” in my character.
I also wanted the Diary to be written by a military man with an average educational background. I wanted the reader to feel that they were actually reading a ‘Real’ Diary not a beautifully formatted perfectly flowing and well penned diary of a person with an honours degree in English.
The next problem was to make the journal seem real, I did this by putting in daft little bits about day to day life, and one of the daft little bits I put in was that he needed to get some new underwear as his old ones had holes in them.
For some unknown reason, the women who read this on Redwave loved the fact that he was search for the perfect pair of underwear, and it became a running theme that ends with the jet black and gold Y Fronts.
Anyway, I needed a name for the book.  I came up with a number or names – “The Space Killer Diary” and “The Chronicles of a Mass Killer” are two, I will actually admit too, the rest were even worse.
I was staring at a blank page when the words “The Y Front Chronicles” slowly took form in front of my eyes. That was it, that was my title. So that is why the book is called what it is – Because of a slightly warped sense of humour and staring at a blank screen for 30 minutes.
Leave a Reply

