The thought proccess behind writing “Echoes of a Storm”

Echoes of a Storm – Book One of the Storm Series

 Warning – contains spoilers

I have always been a huge fan of dark fantasy in all its wonderful forms since I was small boy. I suppose it all stems from the love of fairy stories – not the family-friendly fairy stories of Disney, but the dark gothic tales of the Brothers Grimm, and Celtic and Scandinavian myths.

One of my favourite childhood memories (aged about 10) was sitting in the shed at the bottom of the garden, reading my book of dark fairy tales. Occasionally glancing out the window and through the rain (it was Scotland, after all) to the tree-covered mountains, I would wonder what creatures and monsters lived up there. I may be dyslexic, but I always had an excellent imagination.

I suppose it was during this time that the seeds of ‘Echoes of a Storm’ started to take root. Anyway, fast-forward twenty-nine years later – I’ve grown up, served in the RAF for twelve years, and was in the process of getting divorced when I decided to write for the first time since secondary school.

But what to write? For years, I had this image of a man walking away in the rain and a woman crying. But why was she crying and who was he? It took me awhile to work out what had happened, but once I had, I quickly wrote the prelude.

Next, I needed to work out where the book and trilogy was set. I decided on a fantasy world, loosely based on Europe in the Middle Ages where forests and mountains are dangerous places to roam, countries go to war as kings try to carve out kingdoms whilst the common man tries to live his life as best he can, and stories of monsters and demons are told round campfires.

I knew straight away what the book was going to be about – ‘Echoes’ is simply about fathers and daughters, and the fear every father has about protecting his daughter from the wicked and evil world. I also knew that I wanted to write ‘Echoes’ from an adult male’s perspective for two very good reasons:

 1. I am an adult male (44 at the time of typing)

 2. The book is about fathers trying to protect their daughters, so needed a masculine feel.

Since I already knew that the Queen’s bodyguard was a werewolf (it was part of the prelude), I wanted to add a small twist, so I thought I would rename Werewolves to Dev’ver. This has actually proven to be a good decision, as it’s allowed me, over the course of the trilogy, to introduce new ideas and storylines around the Dev’ver and their opposite numbers.

So, in summary – ‘Echoes of a Storm’ is a dark, gritty, adult fairy story with strong adult themes and storylines, and I would highly recommend you read it! But then again, I would.

Leave a Reply

