What inspired me to write – Part one

Books and Authors.

Hopefully within 500ish words, I will list below the top ten Books or Authors that, for one reason or another, inspired me.

 I’ve placed then in (roughly) chronological order.

 1. The Brothers Grimm book of fairy tales.  Well this is the book that fired my imagination all those years ago.

 2.  2000AD. For those of you that don’t know 2000AD is a British comic that started in 1977. My mum thought it was far too violent for me (I was 8) when it first came out, so I did not actually start reading it until about 2 years later.  The stories were violent, dark and gritty. The heroes did not always do nice things and more importantly they had Middenface McNulty a properly written Scottish character, which appeared in the Strontium Dogs stories

 3.     Edge series of books by George G Gilman. These were a set of western books written by British author Terry Harknett who under the pseudonym of George G Gilman wrote these Western stories. The Gilman books were known for their sardonic and sarcastic humor and for their very violent content, and as 14 year old boy I loved them

 4.  To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee. At secondary school, I was told that I was lazy and stupid in English, hence I was placed in the lowest English class. (they later found out that I was Dyslexic) I hated all the books we were given to read and had almost given up on reading. Then one day we got a new teacher, and she gave us To Kill a Mocking Bird to read. This book did something magical, it reignited my love of reading

 5.   An Inspector calls by J B Priestly. I know this is a play by it is a wonderful play and the twist at the end is wonderful.

 6.   The colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett. If To Kill a Mocking Bird reignited my love of reading then The Colour of Magic fanned the flames and turned it into a raging inferno. The man is a legend.

 7.   Legend and Waylander by David Gemmell. David Gemmell was the first author I read in fantasy whose books read like they had been written by a man. As a male reader, this was like mana from heaven. Of all the writers that have influenced me, David Gemmell is the one who has influenced my style of writing the most.

 8.   The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie. By 2007 the world of fantasy stories was filled with love struck vampires, elf and dwarfs swinging beer and stories aimed at teenagers. I had almost given up on finding new stories to read and then came along ‘The Blade Itself’ and my faith in fantasy stories was rekindled.

 9.   The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch. It’s like buses. You wait around for ages and nothing comes then all of a sudden two come at once.

 10.   I am Legend by Richard Matheson. The films of this book are rubbish, but the book is simple fantastic. Every fantasy writer and reader should read this book.

I have missed out so many books and authors from my list, that I have read and enjoyed but I cannot put everyone in or it would be my top 100!

 

Alan

 

Leave a Reply

