A Rant About 2 out 5 stars and no Reason Why.

On Goodreads one particular reviewer has given Tea and Tea II both 2 out of 5 stars but not given a reason why.

Let me say now, at the start, that I have no problem with this person given me only 2 stars. Everyone has a right to put whatever rating they feel is appropriate, also if you cannot take criticism of your work….don’t publish.

I acknowledge and accept he does not like the stories, and I am cool with that. That is not what the rant is about.

My rant is about…this person not saying why!

Looking at their profile, I would say that this person is a male aged in their late teens or early twenties, they read, and rate, a lot of gay literature as well as a lot of Alex Rider books.

They have given lot’s of books between 1 and 2 stars (so it’s nothing personal) and they have given a few books 4 or 5 stars.

Now, I placed Tea and Tea II in the Gay category on Amazon because one of the main characters is gay, and there are gay issues raised in both books. However, the relationship between the werewolf and the gay tailor is platonic, and the issues raised are really for the older and more mature readers.

I should point out at this stage that I am a straight man, but I have gay friends and some of the conversation in ‘Tea’ is very close to an actual conversation, I had with a gay friend of mine when we were both very drunk one night.

Hence, the issues raised in the book, whilst not personal, are taken from real life. Actually it would be nice if someone from the Gay community who had read the book could say if I had got it right, or even if I should advertise the story under gay literature

Anyway, back to the rant – I just wish this person had said why he had given me two stars. If he had said – “I have given this story two stars because as a twenty year old I find the story boring” or “I have given this two stars it is not very well written” or finally “I have only given two stars because it is not really a gay story.”

Then I could understand why, as well as other people who see the 2 stars.

I would like to end on a positive note. So, to that man who gave two of my stories 2 stars – thank you, at least you took the time to leave feedback.

Alan

3 comments on “A Rant About 2 out 5 stars and no Reason Why.

  1. lisawolverton1 says:

    If it’s any consolation, 2 stars on Goodreads is labeled ‘It was ok’ – so it’s not as bad as it sounds 🙂 You are correct, though, in wanting more constructive feedback. Just remember how many people really like Tea and Tea II (me included)

  2. Harliqueen says:

    It is annoying when people just put down feedback like that but don’t leave a reason, how as a writer are we supposed to improve without knowing what others didn’t enjoy about our work, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

