A question for the authors out there.

Here’s a question for all you authors out there – Have you ever tried to find your book on Amazon without using its title or your name? Ie have you just searched for it using the category you placed it in and the Tags you used.

 It’s a very interesting exercise to undertake, because if you cannot find your book easily, how can the readers?

 I’ve just done it and had great difficulty finding even one of my books and I have Twelve on Amazon! So have tweaked my Tags and slightly adjusted my categories, now it’s a waiting game to see if my sales increase or not.

 Alan

 

24 comments on “A question for the authors out there.

  1. Harliqueen says:

    A good point, think I will have to try this out now 😀

    • alankscott says:

      Let me know how you get on. : )

      • Harliqueen says:

        One of them was ok, the other two I couldn’t find at all! Definitely going to have to take your advice and change up my tags and categories 😀

      • alankscott says:

        what i did was search for say “Fantasy” in ebooks and see what sub categories came up. I then chose the sub categories which best reflect my books. I hope by selecting the most popular “Sub categories” my books will appear more often on peoples searches. Good luck and i hope your books move up the lists. Alan : )

  2. Harliqueen says:

    Reblogged this on A Writer's Life For Me. and commented:
    A really good point, and something I tried out and now have to fix 😀

  3. Wow! I’ve never tried that. Very interesting concept. I think I’ll do it now. 🙂

  4. Morgan says:

    A Very Good tip. My Question would be…how did you tweak your tags?

    • alankscott says:

      What I did was search for “Fantasy” in ebooks to see what sub categories came up. I then chose the sub categories which best reflect my books. I hope by using the most popular “Sub categories” as Tags my books will appear more often on people’s searches. Good luck and I hope your books move up the lists. Alan : )

  5. lucciagray says:

    Very good idea! Thanks.

  6. I’m not self-published but I shall pass on this to a friend of mine who is. Thank you for sharing.

  7. Still trying to figure it out.

  8. Definitely going to try this.

  9. Reblogged this on New Author -Carole Parkes and commented:
    If you’re published this may surprise you.

  10. Reblogged this on Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog….. An Author Promotions Enterprise! Meet Indie Authors and their books and commented:
    I’ve sometimes hit the same snag when I’ve been researching authors books they may have forgotten to mention – Like Alan says, please check YOUR books are FINDABLE! 😀

  11. I couldn’t find mine like that. Of course, I only have one published novel right now. Good to know, though.

  12. This is a really good idea! I’m not even going to attempt it, because I self-published through iUniverse and they completely messed up my book tags. But I’ll definitely try it out on the next book I publish (not using iUniverse!) to see how it goes 🙂

  13. clivemullis says:

    I did the same, then fell asleep…..waiting. I must admit after what seemed like five years my book came up. Yey!!!! Changed keywords recently so will see. I think it’s a matter of luck to get the right combination of keywords and categories to get the right exposure. Patience is a virtue in this I think!

Leave a Reply

