Death of my Childhood Innocence

I’ve just seen that Rolf Harris has been found guilty of all 12 counts he faced by a jury at Southwark Crown Court (The 84-year-old was alleged to have assaulted four girls and young women, aged from seven to 19 between 1968 and 1986.)

 When you add in Jimmy Salville, Stuart Hall, Gary Glitter and all the other “Celebrities” that are being investigated by Operation Yewtree. It seems that nearly everyone I watched on children’s TV when I was small was a sex offender, and abused their stardom

 My thought and sympathy of course goes out to all the victims, and they have suffered far worse than me.

 but, I can’t help but think that my childhood has just been wiped out. Almost every programme I enjoyed either on TV or on the Radio as a teenager has been tainted by these vile evil men.

 However I said half way through – my thoughts and sympathy are with the victims, as it they who have truly lost their childhood innocence.

 

Alan

Leave a Reply

