A Poem I wrote for my Girlfriend – A Simple Man

A simple love poem called – A Simple Man

My love – I am but a simple man.

I don’t have film star looks, nor do I have any fashion sense.

I can’t afford weekend breaks to Paris, Milan, or Berlin.

I hate live music festivals and being one of the ‘in’ crowd.

I don’t know any celebrities or famous people.

My love – I am but a simple man.

I am not a deep thinker, nor very philosophical.

I don’t jump out of perfectly serviceable aircraft or bungee from tall bridges.

I’ve done my share of ‘all nighters’, but have no wish to relive my youth.

My love – I am but a simple man.

I don’t own a boat, a fast car, bike, or a plane.

I don’t have a holiday home or a ‘little place in the country’.

I have not wrestled alligators or saved a small child’s life.

My love – I am but a simple man.

So does this make me boring?

Does this make me sad and lonely?

Does this make me a lesser man?

Do I lack what a woman wants?

My love – I am but a simple man.

I know who I am and I am at peace with myself.

I can laugh and I can cry.

I stand my ground for what I believe is right.

My love – I am but a simple man.

I will not steal from you.

I will not hit you.

I will not cheat on you.

I will not make you feel small to make me feel big.

My love – I am but a simple man.

I will hold your hand as we walk.

I will kiss you every day.

I will hold you and protect you.

My love – I am but a simple man.

I love you before the painted mask is applied.

I love you in your comfortable clothes.

I love you when the snot falls from your nose.

I love you for just being you.

My lady – this simple man, simply loves you.

The end

The poem is taken from a book of short stories called “Love and Life” under my pen name of KJA Ireland and is available on Kindle via Amazon

bookcover_love

2 comments on “A Poem I wrote for my Girlfriend – A Simple Man

  1. hemphaus says:

    Great post!

    HempHausMag.com

Leave a Reply

