Dyslexic Writers

Because I have not posted for such a long while, I’m going to re post something from awhile back – Dyslexic and Proud.

The reason I’m reposting this is for the following four reasons:

a. if you read my blogs and think to yourself, for a writer his spelling and grammar is awful. That is because I am Dyslexic, and if its been a really bad day the results can be unintentionally very funny.

b. To reassure people that all my published work is fully proof read and checked by a lovely lady called Lisa W from Texas in the USA. Like all writers I take great pride in my work and I want readers to enjoy the storylines, plots and characters, and not be distracted by bad spelling or punctuation.

c. Yes you can laugh when you spot an amusing mistake – I do when its pointed out to me.

d. Finally Dyslexic is a reason, it is never ever an excuse.

Anyway on with the re posting.

Dyslexic and Proud

I am Dyslexic – I was diagnosed in 1985 ish

However, being Dyslexic has never really impacted on my writing, yes it’s a minor hurdle that needs to be overcome but it does not stop me thinking of plotlines, creating characters and telling (hopefully) interesting and entertaining stories.

I have successful written and self published a trilogy and a couple of books of short stories and have received many good reviews and a few bad ones : )

However, I have come across a very small group of people who think that being dyslexic, it’s impossible for me to write a story.

This small group of people got me thinking – “How many famous Writers are Dyslexic?” So I went to the British Dyslexic Website and discovered that the following people are Dyslexic:

Damon Albarn – Singer / Song writer

Gary Chapman – Film script writer

Agatha Christie – Writer

Steven J Connell – TV writer and author

Roald Dahl – Author

Albert Einstein – Scientist (I’m sure he must have written something )

Sophy Fisher – Journalist

Esther Freud – Novelist

Noel Gallagher – Singer / Song writer

John Irving – Author

Lynda La Plante – TV writer

John Lennon – Musician (he wrote songs hence I’m keeping him on my list)

Pablo Picasso – Artist (Ok not a writer but I am trying to make a point here – gently)

Matthew Sturgis – Journalist

Lord Willis – Author

William Butler Yeats – Poet

Murray Lachlan Young – Poet

Benjamin Zephaniah – Poet

For a Full list of famous people who are dyslexic, you can go to the British Dyslexic Website, the link is below

http://www.bdadyslexia.org.uk/about-dyslexia/famous-dyslexics.html

So to that small group of people who say that Dyslexics cannot possible write novels – “Read the above list and weep”

Dyslexic’s rule KO 🙂

Alan

Leave a Reply

